The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

Basketball Associations


VHSL Basketball Program Administrator Joyce Sisson, jsisson@vhsl.org
VHSL Officials Program Administrator Joyce Sisson, jsisson@vhsl.org
Basketball Rules Interpreter Joyce Sisson, jsisson@vhsl.org

VHSL RECOGNIZED ASSOCIATIONS

Recognized associations have varsity-level contracts with at least 6 VHSL-member schools, and must meet a number of other VHSL requirements.

ASSOCIATION CONTACT OTHER INFORMATION
Appalachian Joel Wyatt
H: 276-395-5456
B: 276-220-9569
E: davenewyatt@msn.com
Southwest Virginia
Battlefield
Randy Bockenstedt
H: 540-372-4303; W: 571-296-8169
E: rbockenstedt@verizon.net
Fredericksburg, Stafford, Spotsylvania
Bull Run
Edward Ehrmantraut
H: 804-224-9468
E: bullrunrefs@aol.com
Prince William County
Cardinal
Cecil Hurst
H: 540-972-8863
E: cboacomish@comcast.net
Fairfax, Loudoun, Alexandria
Central
Aaron Lewis
H: 804-938-4479
W: 804-639-0929
E: cvboa@hotmail.com
E: aalewis01@gmail.com
Web: www.cvboa.arbite/sports.com
Greater Richmond area
Colonial (Girls)
Donny Turner
H: 434-525-8266; W: 434-455-0891
C: 434-942-6505
E: donny.turner@phmloans.com
Lynchburg area
Colonial (Boys)
Charles Trent
H: 540-871-0838; W: 540-261-8110
E: charles.trent1@yahoo.com
Lynchburg area
Hampton Roads
Chuck Shumate
H: 757-646-3338; W: 727-627-4595
E: board94@cox.net
Southeastern Virginia
Piedmont Louis (Lou) Farina, Jr.
H: 434-823-1240; W: 434-975-2661
C: 434-806-8700
E: loufarinajr@aol.com
Charlottesville area
Shenandoah
Gary Leake
H: 540-459-2522; C: 540-335-1933
E: sboa20@gmail.com
Harrisonburg, Winchester areas
Tidewater
Steve Whitley
H: 757-255-2275; W: 757-641-9126
E: yanksarenumb1@aol.com
Newport News, Hampton, Williamsburg
Tri-City
Milton Simmons
H: 804-743-1336; W; 800-235-1333
E: sportsplus@msn.com
Chesterfield
Western Virginia
Jerry Spangler
H: 540-816-0575
E: jspangler@tng.com
Roanoke area
Interpreter Joyce Sisson
W: 434-977-8475
E: jsisson@vhsl.org
 


ASSOCIATIONS APPLYING FOR VHSL RECOGNITION

These associations have applied for VHSL recognition and have completed all application requirements.  The application period is for 2 years.  During that time, they may participate in the bidding process for VHSL member school contracts.  There are currently no associations applying for recognition in basketball.

ASSOCIATION CONTACT OTHER INFORMATION
Virginia Sports Officials Assn. (VSOA) Martin Short
W: 804-218-5441
E: martin.short@vasportsofficials.org
2-year period expires August, 2018
Richmond/Tri-Cities area
     
     


OTHER ASSOCIATIONS

The following associations do not meet the requirements for VHSL recognition, and have not applied for such.  They work limited (if any) VHSL contests, but do register officials for recreation, middle school and private school contests. They may not bid on additional VHSL member school contracts.

Danville Reid Taylor
H: 434-836-0748; W: 434-548-9090
E: reidandann@verizon.net
Danville area private schools and recreation programs
DanMar Don Hogg
H: 540-420-7412; W: 276-638-3904
E: dghogg@sellshoggjones.com
 
Northwestern Chuck Hipkins
H: 540-323-0665
E: c.hipkins@hotmail.com
Winchester area middle/private schools
Peninsula Tony Brothers
H: 757-593-8074
E: tbrothers25@gmail.com
 Newport News area private schools, Surry Co.
Southwest Lewis Foreman
C: 423-646-6903
E: swoaforeman@gmail.com
 Suspended for 2015-16