The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

VHSL Announces 5A Boys and Girls All-State Lacrosse Teams

June 15, 2017

Patrick Henry-Roanoke's Ikie Smith selected 5A Boys Player of the Year; Potomac Falls' Tori Birks named 5A Girls Player of the Year; Patrick Henry-Roanoke's Josh Wilkenson named 5A Boys Coach of the Year; Potomac Falls' Jim Birks named 5A Girls Coach of the Year

The Virginia High School League 2017 Group 5A boys all-state boys and girls lacrosse teams have been selected. Patrick Henry-Roanoke senior goalkeeper Ikie Smith and Patrick Henry head coach Josh Wilkenson were selected the boys 5A Player of the Year and 5A Coach of the Year after leading the Patriots to the 5A boys title. Potomac Falls senior midfielder Tori Birks was selected 5A girls Player of the Year and Potomc Falls head coach Jim Birks was selected 5A Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to the 5A girls title.  Other Group All-State teams will be announced as they are selected.

Sixteen (16) players are chosen on the first team and 16 players are selected for the second team.  The team is made up of five (5) attackers; five (5) midfielders; five (5) defenders, and one (1) goalkeeper. Only first-team all-region selections are eligible for selection to the all-state team.

Each all-state selection committee is composed of eight lacrosse coaches (four from each region).

5A Boys All-State Lacrosse »
5A Girls All-State Lacrosse »