The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

VHSL Announces 2013 All-State Football Team

February 11, 2014

Group 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A teams selected


CHARLOTTESVILLE, VAThe Virginia High School League 2013 Group, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A All-State football teams have been selected. Each squad is attached. Group 1A and 6A teams will be announced at a later date.

Thirty (30) players were chosen to the all-state team (Offense: one quarterback; four linemen; one center; three running back; three wide receivers; one kicker; one kick returner; one offensive all-purpose player. Defense: four linemen, four linebacker; four defensive backs; one punter; one punt returner; one defensive all-purpose player).

Each all-state selection committee is composed of eight football coaches (4 from each Region), and two athletic directors/directors of student activities (1 from each Region). 

Highlights include:

Group 2A All-State Team

16 seniors; 12 juniors; 2 sophomores selected…state runner-up Brunswick placed seven players on the all-state team followed by state champion Giles and Goochland with four each.

Group 3A All-State Team

21 seniors; 6 juniors; 1 sophomore…Lafayette had five players selected followed by state champion Northside and runner-up The James Monroe with four each…Lafayette’s Jahlil Green (RB-DB) and James Monroe’s Jarmel Bevels (WR-DB) were named first-team offense and defense

Group 4A All-State Team

19 seniors; 9 juniors; 1 sophomore…Lake Taylor had eight selections followed by state champion Dinwiddie with six and Salem-Salem with three selections…Lake Taylor’s Jalyn Homes (WR-DL) was named first-team offense and defense.

Group 5A All-State Team

19 seniors; 6 juniors…state champions L.C. Bird and state runner-up Briar Woods each had six players chosen to the team followed by Atlee and North Stafford with four selections each…Atlee’s Tye Burris (KR-LB), North  Stafford’s Joey Slye (K-LB), Briar Woods’ Trace McSorley (QB-DB), LC Bird’s Rasheed Worsham (WR-DB) and Earl Hughes (RB-KR) were named to both teams.