The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

Creative Writing

Season Information 2016-17 2017-18
Deadline for Entry (received by)
Mar. 15
Mar. 15

VHSL State Championships

Results announced tentatively by May 1 of each school year
Lisa Giles, VHSL Assistant Director, 434-977-8475

2016-17 Results
2016-17 Booklet of Winning Entries

Info for Participating Schools

Entry Form

Event Safety Protocol

Non-member school event safety protocol guide

Past Results










DID YOU KNOW -- The Virginia High School League began recognizing excellence in creative writing in 1924 with contests in poetry and short story writing.  The winners that year were George Leckie of E.C. Glass High School and Charles Feltner of Berrysville High School, respectively. 

Over twenty years later, the contest expanded to include a category in essay writing and the League also began awarding schools for their overall folder submissions of poems, short stories and essays.  That first year, schools in four classifications were state champions:  Lane (I), John Handley (II), Fincastle (III) and Greenwood (IV). 

Today, just 22% of the League's schools participate in creative writing and the League is looking for ways to breathe new life into this valuable program.  In 2011-12, Appomattox County High School, Loudoun County High School and Westfield High School took the Group A, AA and AAA state titles.

VHSL Activities Facebook Page -

VHSL Activities Twitter Page -

VHSL YouTube Page -