The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

Torch of Honor

The VHSL Torch of Honor recognizes individuals whose commitment and service to VHSL programs at the regional and/or state level go beyond that required by regular employment over a period of at least five years. Factors considered in evaluating Torch of Honor nominees include:

♦ Service to other professional organizations;

♦ Innovation in developing new programs or expansion of existing programs;

♦ Evidence of exceptional service to high school activity programs.

Anyone may submit to the Executive Committee a nomination for a person to receive the VHSL Torch of Honor. Each nomination must be accompanied by a statement giving full details supporting the nominee's qualifications as related to the criteria for recognition. The Recognition Committee will review all nominations and make recommendations to the Executive Committee. All approved recipients are recognized at the annual fall membership meeting.

Please submit nominations to Mike McCall (


Nomination Form and Information



Past Torch of Honor Recipients

Principals Athletic Directors Contributors
Hugh Pendleton Diane Anderson Dr. Vito Periello, MD
Doug Hunt Bruce Patrick Carey Harveycutter
Jerry Deviney Jimmy Jones Dr. Tom Shortt
Joe DeVault Dave Morgan Larry Johnson
Craig Barbrow Bruce Phelps Martha Akers
Berkley Clear Francis Dall  
Lou Tonelson Ted Salmon  
Don Bock    
Pete Koste    
Nat Hardee