The Official Website of the Virginia High School League • Building Better Citizens
Contact Us rSchoolToday Line

Lifetime Achievement Award

The VHSL Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals for long-standing service of at least 15 years and exceptional dedication to the VHSL or its programs as administrators, athletic coaches or contributors.

Anyone may submit to the Executive Committee a nomination for a person to receive the VHSL Lifetime Achievement Award.  Each nomination must be accompanied by a statement giving full details supporting the nominee's qualifications as related to the criteria for recognition. The Recognition Committee will review all nominations and make recommendations to the Executive Committee. All approved recipients are recognized at the annual fall membership meeting.

Please submit nominations to Mike McCall (


Nomination Form and Information


Past VHSL Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients


Athletic Directors



John Gentry, Central (Lunenberg) Chuck Tester, L.C. Bird Jerry Sazio, Maury Dr. Frank Sellew, Norfolk
Tom Dye, Whitewood Jim Sangston, Douglas Freeman Linda Farmer, Powhatan Lou Martin, Richmond (Official)
Bobby Goulder, Colonial Heights Bert Harrell, Norfolk Ken Whitley, Norfolk Harry Ward, Mathews
Bob Clark, Edison/Madison Roy Ammons, Kellam David Rasnake, Council Ann Gregory, St. Paul
Mike Campbell, Potomac Betsy Thomas, Lafayette Drew Bright, Douglas Freeman Roy Stanley, WDBJ-TV, Roanoke
John Porter, T.C. Williams Lloyd Swelnis, Manchester Jack Baker, Maury John Harocopos, Washington-Lee
Jim Short, St. Paul Al Crymes, Central (Lunenburg)   Marian Suter, Spotswood
Don Clausen, Annandale Ron Lindon, Handley   Joe Hicks, Charlottesville
Don Weinheimer, McLean Bill Strickland, Churchland    
Charlie Ostlund, Oakton Bill Myers, Oscar Smith    
Wayne Griffith, Potomac Falls Pat Laing, Fairfax    
Bill Pugh, Stafford John Wymer, Stonewall Jackson (Q)    
  Jerry Walters, Central (Woodstock)    
  Joe Breinig Sr., Briar Woods
  Jimmie Williford, Newport News